It’s a new season…

56869963-0f25-44df-9c11-a6c424e33fac.jpeg

What would you do to overcome obesity, sleep apnea, high blood pressure, elevated cholesterol, PCOS, and borderline diabetes? I’ve kept my decision quiet for the past year. When you see me in public, I don’t want you to wonder if I’m sick or having issues. You see I’ve actually been sick with all of the above diagnosis and no one really knew.

I am taking steps to regain my health. I have decided I don’t want to live on 8 pills a day any longer. I don’t want to hurt when I walk up stairs. I don’t want to deal with chronic back and hip pain. I don’t want to wake up exhausted and worn out before the day begins. I want to be happy in my own skin. I want to run marathons, even if they are short 5K’s. I want to hike trails, bike and enjoy the outdoors. I want to enjoy CrossFit weightlifting again and not feel like I’m going to pass out. I want to have a better quality of life, more endurance and greater capacity to be the best wife, mom and some day grandma.

I have decided to undergo gastric sleeve surgery as a tool to help me take back all that I want out of life. I recognize there are mixed opinions and mixed feelings about weight loss surgery. Trust me I’ve gone through the pros and cons with my surgeon, my primary care provider, therapist, nutritionist, a few trusted friends and my immediate family for the past year. This was not a light decision or an easy decision. It is not the easy way out and it will require lots of hard work, mentally and physically.

I am not looking for your support or your approval. I am simply using my personal blog, my personal media accounts as a way to express my journey. Not that I must or that I am required to tell anyone. It’s a tool that I will use to release my own personal thoughts, feelings and sometimes anxiety and feel refreshed by the exhale.

I am an open book and willing to share my journey but please keep all negativity away. I’m not interested. This is a new season and a new opportunity that I will embrace with all that I am!

Leave a comment