The Rhythm of God’s Song

5-minute-friday-1

Today I’m joining http://lisajobaker.com/ and friends to write for Five Minute Friday.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

The Word Prompt for today is…Rhythm…

Today I decided to look up the word rhythm prior to writing my Five Minute Friday post. This is what I grabbed from Wikipedia ” rhythm is the timing of events on a human scale; of musical sounds and silences”. Hmm ok I think I’m on to something the Lord has been speaking to my heart this week… so here goes…Five Minute Friday

The timing of events on a human scale..the musical sounds and the silences. This week I was sitting with the Lord and he very clearly said “Why are you praying for a new assignment, I have already given you the assignment I have for your life. Why are you waiting for someone else to validate, affirm and confirm the assignment that I gave you?” Those were tough questions to hear let alone try to find an answer for in that moment. A couple of years ago, I felt the crushing blow of some one say “Women’s ministry is not for you.” Unfortunately I allowed those words to dictate the musical sound God was singing with such sweet rhythm over my life. Since then, I have tried to seek out other avenues of walking in step with the Lord. Nothing brings fulfillment and joy as walking in the rhythm of the Lord through teaching His Word and walking with women through life’s mountains and valleys.

piano rose

The past couple of years have felt like silent years. When I stop to consider why they have been silent, I go back to what the Lord has spoken this week. If I truly believe what God has been singing the past 20 years, what else is there for Him to say. This week I had a dream that at first seemed a bit odd however it was another, about the 10th, confirmation that God’s promises, assignments and calling over our lives are consistent. He does not change His calling just because a man or woman does not agree with the calling.

I am grateful for friends who know the depths of my heart and hear the music that God sings over my life. I am thankful for women who believe in me and the assignment God has over my life. I am blessed by friends who remind me to listen to the rhythm of God’s song.

One of my favorite Bible verses…

Zephaniah 3:17  The Lord your God is in the midst of you, a Mighty One, a Savior [Who saves]! He will rejoice over you with joy; He will rest [in silent satisfaction] and in His love He will be silent and make no mention [of past sins, or even recall them]; He will exult over you with singing. (Amplified Bible)

4 thoughts on “The Rhythm of God’s Song

  1. Hi Nicole. I love what you have done in 5 minutes! The deep reflection on life,calling and ministry in the rhythm of your life is one I can relate to. I’ve been laid aside (seemingly) by health problems for a long time and unable to continue leading a woman’s group I saw as a clear ministry. Yet, the Lord has whispered encouragement to me many times since and suggested new avenues He has planned for me to walk in. All has yet to become clear. But those God-whispers to our hearts (and significant dreams) are worth paying attention to. Meanwhile, He rejoices over your life and sees all the potential still to come. So do not lose heart in the waiting period.Lean hard and rest in the unforced rhythms of His grace day by day. Every blessing 🙂 x

    • Joy…thank you!!! Your words mean a lot to my heart today!! Praying God will continue to use you to minister to women no matter the physical “limitations” you may feel. God can use all that we place in His hands. Our limitations are huge opportuities for God’s love and strength to shine forth.

      • Nicole, it’s great to hear back from you! I am also encouraged by your words and have taken the liberty of following you on Twitter. God uses all of our lives. Nothing is wasted. Those thoughts have helped me make sense of the bad times when limited by chronic illness. Thank you. So pleased we linked up near to each other for Five Minute Friday! Bless you 🙂 x

      • Absolutely!! Great to meet you here. I just read your “Letter to a stranger”…one word…AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

