New Year…New Hair

2013The Big Chop aka BC.

I have talked about this day for months…well actually years. I’ve joked about it with my husband and sort kinda mentioned it to friends. Over the years I have worn my hair in braids, long weaves, curly weaves, relaxed, finger waves, color treated and every thing in between. As some would say “fried, dyed and laid to the side”. Going for the BC also means going back to my roots, literally and allowing my hair to grow out naturally without all the harsh chemicals and hot styling tools. Why the change…

Last year I began a journey to uncover the one question most of us ask ourselves a time or two. “Who am I?” It started with a few friends asking me to exercise and commit to getting into shape. This led to an ever-increasing awareness that I am a child of God made in His image and likeness. I am a daughter of the King to be adored and celebrated for all the ways in which I am created. As a daughter of the King, I am to present my body as a living sacrifice and as a temple that embodies the living Holy Spirit. As I stood one day looking in the mirror I knew deep in my heart I was a walking time bomb waiting to explode with some kind of health issue or another. Check out some of my earlier blogs about my journey to better health.

Today I’m discovering more and more that I have allowed society to dictate many areas of my life; not just what I put on the inside of my body but how the outside of my body looks to others. Standing in that same mirror, I committed to take off the wigs, let go of the extensions, lay down the hot combs, and wash away all the relaxers. new photo
It was time to become the natural me. Around the same time I stumbled upon a twitter conversation with 3 other women talking about going all natural. They talked about doing the BC, watching youtube videos, blogging and vlogging about our transformations. I was still very hesitant…it was great to meet up with sistas on-line and talk about hair. In my everyday I don’t cross paths with too many women who understand all that goes into “doing my hair”. So I decided to keep my same do…until Kim’s vlog. My first impression was wow that is a nice vlog. My second impression (speaking to myself)…yea so why are you so caught up in what people think about you. I closed my laptop and called my friend Jamie. I scheduled my appointment and said it’s time!!

January 3, 2012 at 2:00pm I walked into the hair shop, told Jamie my plan and the journey began…I have to admit there was a time or two I looked in the mirror and questioned my decision. I felt where my hair used to be and thought yes this is all natural…just the way God created it.

Picture2
I am just starting out on this journey…if you want to learn more,  join me and my friends on Twitter #NaturalHairGFClub. This is where we talk all things natural!!

Happy Styling…

Please leave a comment so I know you were here…

One thought on “New Year…New Hair

  1. So proud of you sis! You look absolutely beautiful. I’m so glad to be on this journey with you and I can’t wait to see how God challenges all of us in the #NaturalHairGFClub to be who He created us to be. Thanks for sharing your heart.

Leave a Reply

